Thirlwall Colliery Drop, which originally served as part of a coal mine in the 1920’s, lies deep in rural Northumberland. Despite the existing building being very remote and hard to access by car or public transport, passengers of the local train route are offered a fleeting view of the melancholic ruin as they speed past.
The Ramblers’ Retreat and Folk Rooms aim to unite the two main cultural interests in the area - rambling and folk music - into a simple, honest and robust pair of buildings which nestle into the rolling landscape. Both of the buildings are constructed out of thick waterproof concrete walls, which provide refuge from the elements for the ramblers, who will only be able to reach the site by foot. Once a year the site will come alive with the Folk Festival; served by a unique train service that will ceremoniously allow mainstream access to the site.
Do not reproduce images without prior permission.